Foundation Phase (Grades R to 3)

The concept of "foundation" inherently suggests a focus on cultivating the necessary skills, knowledge, and concepts for future learning.

The primary areas of learning in this phase include:

  • Numeracy: This involves understanding number concepts and hands-on application of basic mathematical principles.
  • Literacy: English serves as the primary language of instruction, supplemented by Afrikaans (beginning in Grade 1) as a secondary language.
  • Perceptual Development: This encompasses the development of sensory-motor integration, gross motor skills, and perceptual life skills.

Assessment in the Foundation Phase is centered around achieving developmental outcomes. Students are evaluated in each learning area on a continuum based on their competencies, skills, and understanding of concepts. It is emphasized that every learner has their own strengths, and individual development takes precedence over competitiveness. Regular Progress Reports are issued, and parents are encouraged to schedule appointments with teachers at any time to discuss their child's progress.

Intermediate Phase (Grades 4 to 6)

While building a strong foundation remains crucial, learners in this phase are encouraged to cultivate independent thinking skills. The aim is to prepare them for the Senior Phase in high school.

The primary areas of learning in this phase encompass:

  • Languages: English serves as the primary language of instruction, and Afrikaans is taught as a second additional language.
  • Mathematics: Learners engage in the study of mathematical concepts and problem-solving.
  • Natural Sciences and Technology: This field covers subjects such as biology, chemistry, physics and technology allowing students to explore the natural world and technology advances it has to offer.
  • Social Sciences: History and Geography are the key components of this subject, providing an understanding of past events and geographical phenomena.
  • Life Skills: This area of study focuses on developing essential life skills, such as creative arts, physical education, personal well-being and guidance for making informed decisions.

Senior Phase (Grades 7 to 9)

In this phase, it is still essential to uphold the learning areas from the Intermediate Phase. However, learners are strongly encouraged to develop critical thinking skills and prioritize their focus on meeting the examination requirements. The objective is to adequately prepare them for the Senior examinations taking place in June and November.

The key subjects in this phase include English, Afrikaans, Mathematics, Social Sciences, Life Orientation,  Creative Arts, Economic Management Sciences, Natural Science and Technology.